Who Did it Better?

I was on a walk this morning with Little Bean when one of my favorite Band of Horses songs came on, “No One’s Gonna Love You.” This was one of the first songs of theirs I heard and I instantly took a shine to it (how’s that for that-there Kansas speak?). The title is slightly misleading, believing you to think it’s a song about ostracism and perhaps a severe case of bad breath. It’s a song about losing someone you care deeply about, however, with the lyrics that follow being: “…more than I do.” While not the most hopeful and uplifting song, as the couple has broken up and one partner is reassuring the other that no one will love him/her like s/he does, I still like the sentiment and easy “listenability”– yes, I did just coin that word. Theirs is a love that will last.

This afternoon, I stumbled upon another version of the song by Cee Lo Green, who is currently popular for his expletive-heavy tune, “F*** You.” So maybe he’s not the most kid-friendly of recording artists. Still, the man has talent, in his own unique and special way. I was pleasantly surprised to find how much I enjoyed his cover of a band with such an intensely different sound. It need not be said that I prefer the Band of Horses version to Cee Lo Green’s, but still, I commend the good Gentle-sir for his valiant effort. Give the two versions a listen and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

