FREEEEEEEEEZE

No, this post is not in reference to the near-arctic weather that has taken over the village. The snow continues to creep further down the mountain, closing the distance between its frosty border and my doorstep. Over the past several days I have been preparing myself for the dropping temperatures. I’ve bought a new winter hat with fleece lining in a shocking purple/blue tone. Today, I picked up some new leather boots, the likes of which I have been searching for three years. Finally! A giant box does not go unnoticed upon entering the house. Of course, the kiddos wanted to see what was inside. When I showed them my loot, Jan announced they were “so pretty.” I’m trusting his judgment. A couple of scarves picked up at the Grand Bazaar in Istanbul round out my new winter gear. I’m ready to tackle the weather.

Well, that was a bit of a tangent. What I originally intended to share with you was a five minute segment of my Saturday afternoon. My friend Nicole alerted me and some other au pairs to a Freezemob that would be taking place in Paradeplatz. For those of you unfamiliar with the activity, it is essentially a gathering of people that “freeze” all at the same time in a large, public space for five minutes. At the end of five minutes people disperse and carry on like it’s any other Saturday at 3:00 in the afternoon. For those not in the know it can be a confusing spectacle to come across. I chose to not be an (in)active participant, and instead watched from the side and enjoyed the amused and confused looks from uninformed patrons. Paradeplatz was an excellent choice of location as several trams converge here and the foot traffic is heavy. People exiting the trams were at first annoyed to find people standing right outside the doors and then bewildered as to why no one was moving–anywhere. People walking into the square had equally furrowed brows and side-stepped their way through clumps of “frozen” people. As a bystander it was very entertaining. You can check out the video here:

Leave a Reply

