Say Cheese!

Believe it or not, sometimes it’s a challenge to entertain the kids. With Taz it’s an almost daily struggle to keep him occupied and engaged. I am constantly rifling through my bag of tricks in order to prevent a lack-of-stimulation meltdown. One hundred games of memory, countless drawings of boats, a well crafted playlist for dancing, and one snack of bread and jam later, Taz is still asking, “KrisTIna, what can we do?” “I don’t know anymore, Taz. Let’s listen to the sound of our breathing.” It has gotten to the point where I don’t allow that question to be asked anymore. Maybe it’s a symptom of raising a boy, or more simply, a case of a next to nothing attention span. Either way, it’s hard to always come up with things to keep them busy.

On Sunday morning in Laax the parents went out for a walk and to do some outdoor work; I was left with the kids for a few hours. My feet were still under the weather so I wasn’t up to taking them for a walk. I opened my computer so we could listen to some tuneage while we drew pictures of make-up (Rapunzel’s idea–surprise, surprise). Taz looks at my computer and asks if he can look at my pictures. Of course, that sounds like a great idea. I love looking through my pictures, who knew he would be so interested in my social life?

Browsing through iPhoto we come across many pictures I have taken of the kids. Next thing I know I’ve got Rapunzel on my other side and we are shuffling through photos of them. I open up Photo Booth, which we have used before to take pictures and videos. We then browse through these flicks and pics, taking some more as we go. Little Bean wakes up from her mid-morning nap and before I know it 2 1/2 hours have gone by. This is probably the easiest and most successful way I have found to keep them entertained, short of putting on a film. Idea noted for future rainy days.

Rapunzel, Taz, and I-- glamour shot!

Little Bean and I on another Photo Booth Day in Laax

One thought on “Say Cheese!

Leave a Reply

