“Can’t Nobody Hold Me Down”

Why, yes, that is a Puff Daddy reference. And you thought I wasn’t “with it”…

Yesterday was just one of those days. You know the kind: you wake up on the wrong side of the bed (in my case there’s only one but let’s just run with it), and from there everything seems to compound and progressively get worse. On a scale from 1 to 10, with 1 being a “bad hair day” and 10 being “get down from the ledge!” it might rank at about a 6. When I sat down I had plans to regale you with my tales and woe is me act. But, upon further reflection I realized no one wants to read about that, and complaining really doesn’t translate well. So, let’s settle for the fact that yesterday is in the past and today I rolled down to the end of my bed and got out that way.

(Is it a coincidence that Florence + The Machine “Dog Days Are Over” just came up on my “Genius” shuffle on iTunes? I think not.)

I will be MIA for a while as this weekend is ZüriFäscht. This is essentially a giant party. Around 2 million people swarm our city, which only inhabits roughly half a million people– so one might presume it will become a bit of a zoo. Zürich becomes a self-proclaimed outdoor party heaven and is host to an assortment of activities and concerts. This is, in fact, such a major event that the Doggfather himself, Snoop Dogg, will be performing tomorrow night at China Garden. As of yet I do not have plans to see this soulful singer but I’m sure his melodious beats will carry throughout Zürich and not one of us will be spared his inspirational words of wisdom. ZüriFäscht only occurs once every three years so when it does happen it’s with a bang. The Zürchers have been hard at work giving the city a facelift. The streets have already been lined with booths and spaces for vendors. Temporary stages have been erected and the lake is being prepped for it’s role as setting of an intense fireworks extravaganza. It will be a fun weekend, promising to put us all in a celebratory mood. A friend from back home, Kaitlin is coming in town for the event. She is currently an au pair in Madrid and is making the trip east to join in the festivities. I’m looking forward to seeing someone from home and also sharing a little piece of the city I have come to regard as home.

More exciting news: Today I have a meeting with the director of the Obersee Primary School that’s just down the mountain in Pfäffikon. I contacted her about becoming a volunteer at the school. She said she could use me starting at the beginning of the upcoming school year, so today we will discuss my availability and what I can do to help. I’m looking forward to getting connected with a school here and havign experience working in a bilingual school. Also, now that Jill is set to go on to bigger and better things, let’s face it, I’m going to need something to do in the afternoons.

I suppose today would be a nice day to leave you with a song. Recently I’ve found myself drawn toward this particular tune. I heard it for the first time in Manchester whilst perusing the finds in a vintage shop. I couldn’t help but stop, listen and be immediately attracted to it. Her voice is so powerful and intense I found a whole set of emotions swirling around inside. I couldn’t deny a feeling such as this. The rest of the album is sensational, as well.

Please allow me this small indulgence of complaining:

Unfortunately, yesterday I allowed my iPod, camera, and all other contents of my purse take a little swim as the cap to my water became conveniently unattached–got to love those Longchamp bags, they have that attractively advertised waterproof lining that not only keeps the water out but also in. After dumping the whole soggy mess on a sidewalk upon this discovery I reloaded the bag with the hopes that things would dry out and return to normal. It was only water after all. Well, this morning the only electronic that will work is my über-hip (read: not at all) slider phone, provided by the family, which I actually happen to hate. My iPod is sitting on my desk, stubbornly refusing to turn on. The camera sputtered to life for about 2.5 seconds and went back down for a little shut(ter) eye [see what I did there?]. So, let’s all maybe just say a few words of encouragement for these essential pieces of technology, shall we?

2 thoughts on ““Can’t Nobody Hold Me Down”

  1. Put the iPod in a bag of rice, and leave it for a few days or a week. I’m not sure if there’s anything to be done about the camera 😦

Leave a Reply

