Rapunzel, Let Down Your Hair!

On Thursdays Taz is treated to a day of KiddiesKare, which is the equivalent of preschool. This means it’s just Little Bean and I for the day and we are free to take 2 hour walks around the countryside and Moo at the cows until our voices give out. It also means that she usually sleeps until about 9:30 or 10:00 and I have the morning to take care of important business such as emailing, blogging, or catching up on missed episodes of The Office or 30 Rock. This week and next, however, Rapunzel is out of school on Spring holiday, therefore she is home and I had to care for her as well. At this point it’s no secret that she is not my favorite person on the planet, neither am I hers. So needless to say I was a little disgruntled at the thought of spending all morning with her. After a reassuring talk with my mom last Friday I determined that I don’t have to put up with her shenanigans and petty tantrums. Fueled up on resolve to not take any of her 7-year-old antics I was ready to take on the day. All that being said, it ended up being a good day. Perhaps when you have extremely low expectations and presume only the worst will occur things can only go up.

The morning started out with a little beauty school session. Rapunzel just got a mirror, a la Snow White, for her birthday and we filled up the side pockets with important accessories, such as butterfly clips and scrunchies. She wanted to play with my hair, which I thought sounded like a great idea. I grabbed a Glamour magazine trying to complete the experience, undid my ratty bun and settled in for some stylin’. “Alright girlfriend, this hair hasn’t been washed in about two days so let’s see what you’ve got.” Turns out my hair isn’t so fun to work with and after about 2.5 minutes she was over it and wanted me to do hers. “What, I don’t even get so much as a bobby pin stuck in there?” I won’t go into the details here, but Rapunzel’s hair is her pride and joy. It falls past her butt and is somewhat curly, with a rather coarse texture. She loves swinging it about and generally wrapping it around poles and other objects in the house. It actually kind of grosses me out. But, playing with her hair sounded like a good way to fill some time and it allowed me a chance to contain it. Byt he time I was finished she looked like a full-on prinzessin, not to mention tightly bound with a number of rubber bands and bobby pins. No amount of Swiss wind was going to shake that up-do. I was pretty proud of myself.

After this came the elusive, “What do we do now?” question. Hoping to keep up the momentum of our unspoken truce I offered the suggestion of Arts&Crafts. She was game so I got down my Big Box of Supplies and devised an activity. What proceeded was an hour and a half of companionable crafting. I put on Ray LaMontagne Gossip in the Grain and began working on our project. Today we took tin cans and covered them with designs and scenes. The great thing about working with Rapunzel is that she needs little direction, unlike Taz who needs a general hand-holding through all proceedings. It turned out to be a fun day with a shock-worthy ZERO tantrums. Maybe I don’t give her enough credit. But, like I said, she’s not a complete lost cause and I knew at some point I would be able to find little nuggets of kindness within her.

The art project for the day. Can you guess which is mine?

Last night I had dinner with some friends in town at a very traditional Swiss restaurant and I ordered the cordon bleu with a side of rösti (Swiss hashbrowns). Why it took me so long to feast on this delicious meal I have no clue. It was fabulous, made only better by the fact it was stuffed with cream cheese and pine nuts. Excuse me, but I will eat bark if it has cream cheese on it. Needless to say I was beyond full when I left and am still feeling a little sleepy with over-indulgence. As we speak I am watching Little Bean walk around in my tennis shoes, wielding a cane. If I don’t keep an eye on her I fear someone will become the victim of a random act of violence.

This was on tap yesterday during a major creativity binge.

Leave a Reply

