Risky Business

The Mom decided to take the kids to see her Grandmother, Grosse, in Bern yesterday and they don’t plan on returning until this afternoon. This means I have had the house to myself, for the most part (the Dad slept here last night, but didn’t come home until 10:00), for a day. When I told my brother Matt this good fortune last night on Skype he asked if I was pulling a “Risky Business” and running around the house with shades on and the music blaring. As he asked this I was just about to don one of the Dad’s button-up shirts, but thought better of it. Alas, I have enjoyed the simple pleasure found in having the place to myself; no crying or screaming, no fighting over toys, no terrible German TV shows. I threw on my Mom’s San Francisco sweatshirt (probably the best on all of Planet Earth), made some grub, and saddled up in front of my computer for some serious Skyping. This was a perfect night to do this as the family wasn’t here and I didn’t have to worry about them overhearing me. Sometimes when I am in the middle of a pretty serious Rapunzel-bashing or a heated critique on their parenting (or lack thereof) skills I worry that they are listening in, despite me being in the princess suite on the third floor. The acoustics in this house are just shy of non-existent so I know first-hand that sound carries. But, I usually can’t here them chatting downstairs so I am assuming, however naïvely, that they can’t hear me either. In any event, I was able to catch up with Dad, Elizabeth, and Madeline. It was brilliant. Besides being slightly bleary-eyed by the time I headed to bed from all the screen-staring, I was in great spirits and happy to be caught up on all the goings-on at home. I love hearing updates, so keep them coming! On a similar note, I want to say CONGRATULATIONS to Brendan and Claire for the birth of their first son, Sawyer. I saw pictures of him and he is a most precious baby, and I know you are going to raise a heartbreaker over there; some may say it’s too early to tell these things, but I just know. You are both going to be outstanding parents and I could not be more proud of you or happy for you. I love you! And I cannot wait to meet this beautiful, sweet baby angel.

After two missed trains and a missed bus I was a little peeved on my way home from the gym yesterday. As great as the public transportation is here, it’s still frustrating to not be in control of my way to and from places. The cold and dreary weather only compounded the problem, and on my walk home from the train station I was feeling a little peeved and was well on my way to a pity party. Like a kid coming out of a tantrum, my spirits were immediately lifted upon seeing what waited for me in front of the door: a care package from my mom!! She sends/brings the best stuff, and this loot could not have come at a better time. My favorite dress from Anthropologie was sitting on top of the goodies, which you can see below. Each layer of bubble wrap and/or plastic bag contained a new, and often delicious, surprise. Thank you Mom for taking care of me. And, Dad, you rule too. I can’t tell you how grateful I am for you helping to make this year o’ fun possible. You two are the best.

Essentials from home that make surviving that much easier

Below is a hodge-podge of pictures I have taken recently. Enjoy!

The most recent project Taz and I worked on

Above: Taz really enjoys anything we can “up hang” by his bed or Little Bean’s, so we’ve been doing a lot of mobiles.

This is what I see when I look out my window.

A view from the top of our hike up Üetliberg

My outfit for Kristen's Going Away party: White Trash Bash

Above: Kristen had a party to celebrate her time here and decided to give it a specific theme. I came over without the proper attire and managed to get outfitted for the event. Socks with sandals? Anytime.

Leave a Reply

