Soundtracks

Between train rides around the city, working out, and the general walking around I do on a daily basis I have a lot of time to listen to my ipod. Thankfully, right before I left a friend added just over 400 songs to it to keep things fresh. I’ve made several playlists while I’ve been here to keep me entertained during my various activities and I thought I would share some (consolidated versions) of my favorites.

THURSDAY*

  • “Mountain Man” -Crash Kings
  • “Assassin” -John Mayer
  • “Kings and Queens” -30 Seconds to Mars
  • “Armistice” -Phoenix
  • “The Runner” -Kings of Leon
  • “Seaweed” -Passion Pit
  • “Fight Test” -The Flaming Lips
  • “Love Affair” -Copeland
  • “You and Me” -Dave Matthews Band
  • “Policies” -Pete Yorn
  • “We Sing” -Vedera
  • “Undisclosed Desires” -Muse
  • “The Funeral” -Band of Horses
  • “Make this Go on Forever” -Snow Patrol
  • “The Man Who Can’t be Moved” -The Script
  • “1234” -Chairlift
  • “I Couldn’t Explain Why” -Citizen Cope
  • “Samson” -Regina Spektor
  • “Breathe In Breathe Out” -Mat Kearnery

WEDNESDAY*

  • “Our Swords” -Band of Horses
  • “Three More Days” -Ray LaMontagne
  • “Dig” -Incubus
  • “Daylight” -Matt & Kim
  • “Who Says” -John Mayer
  • “The One I Love” -David Gray
  • “Life in Technicolor II” -Coldplay
  • “”Oh My God, Whatever, Etc.” -Ryan Adams
  • “Crooked Teeth” -Death Cab for Cutie
  • “Island on the Coast” -Band of Horses
  • “9 Crimes” -Damien Rice
  • “Fans” -Kings of Leon
  • “Control” -Mute Math
  • “Finer Feelings” -Spoon
  • “The Last Stop” -Dave Matthews Band
  • “Shiver” -Coldplay

WORKOUT 2

  • “Lisztomania (Alex Metric Remix)” -Phoenix
  • “Boyz” -M.I.A.
  • “Fancy Footwork” -Chromeo
  • “The Reeling” -Passion Pit
  • “1985” -Crash Kings
  • “Bulletproof” -La Roux
  • “This Must Be the Place” -Miles Fisher
  • “Just What I Needed” -The Cars
  • “Easy Love” -MSTRKRFT
  • “Sinnerman (Felix Da Housecat’s Remix) -Nina Simone &Felix Da Housecat
  • “Run This Town (feat. Rhianna)” -Jay-Z
  • “Call On Me” -Eric Prydz

It might seem silly to include you all in my kickin’ DJ skills but with as much music as I listen to I always appreciate finding something new. The website http://www.runhundred.com sorts good workout music by category, BPMs, artists, etc. and it has been very helpful in the construction of playlists. I find that it’s much easier to push through those last minutes/miles of a workout if I have something energizing blasting into my ears. It’s been a pretty slow day around here, for which I am so thankful. I’m now headed back to House Rules by Jodi Picoult–Thanks again, Mom! Is there anything better than a rainy, Sunday night and the only activity on the agenda is reading a good book?

*Title of Playlist refers to the day it was made. Creative, right?

2 thoughts on “Soundtracks

  1. Hi hon. I am at work and suppose to be working but I got caught-up on catching-up on your blog, great stuff and very creative. Keep up the good work and i will keep-up more often.
    I hope you are printing your pages off and keeping them as a diary, you will be so thankful one day you did. Your children will get a great lick out of reading this someday, especially about the bithcontrol part !
    Keep it up hon.
    Well, back to work.
    i love you more, Dad.

Leave a Reply

